Montessori and the Aged Care Standards

Montessori is closely aligned to the aged care standards:

Standard 1:

Consumer Dignity and Choice

Dignity, choice, respect and the right to take risks to live the best possible life.


Standard 2:

Ongoing Assessment and planning with consumers

Looking at why the behaviour, spaced retrieval to meet a person’s goals and wishes.


Standard 3:

Personal Care and Clinical Care

3 W’s model, task breakdown and cue cards to promote independence and enablement, preventing excess disability.


Standard 4:

Services and supports for daily living

Support health and well being to optimise quality of life by doing things of interest to maintain emotional and psychological well-being, promote independence through the prepared environment.


Standard 5:

Organisations Service Environment

An environment that fosters belonging, supports function, independence and interactions with others, community connections and involvement and ability to make true choices.


Standard 6:

Feedback and Complaints

Respecting and honouring the person, an environment where people feel they belong and are able to make suggestions and give feedback freely.


Standard 7:

Human Resources

having skilled, knowledgeable and dementia trained staff, employing for emotional intelligence, professional development programs, good leadership, staff and resident recognition programs.


Standard 8:

Organisational Governance

Supporting better practice principles, understanding dementia and supporting strategies that support the older person to live fully.

Contact Us

If you need more questions answered or would like to book a workshop or training session please contact us:

Montessori Consulting